History - Belt Up Country Cup

Belt Up Country Cup


The Belt Up Country Cup is a premier cricket competition played between the WACA’s affiliated Country Cricket Associations, providing country players with an opportunity to play in an elite competition.


It was introduced in the 1980-81 season as a Senior Inter Association competition played under the 50 overs per team, one day format.


Over the years the Belt Up Country Cup has been mainly played as a “knock-out” competition, with the grand finalists competing at the WACA towards the end of the season.


The Belt Up Country Cup from the 2009-10 season has been played as a Twenty20 competition.



Belt Up Country Cup Records


SeasonWinnersRunners Up
1981/82 WickepinMt Barker
1982/83WickepinMt Barker
1984/85BunburyEast Avon
1988/89BunburyCentral Great Southern
1989/90Central Great SouthernMerredin
1990/91NarroginNorth Midlands
1992/93Eastern GoldfieldsBunbury



*For the 1994/95 season, the format was changed with the Regions competing in the Competition.

In the final, Central Districts defeated Mid West. An Under 19 competition was also staged for the first time with South West defeating Wheatbelt in the final.


SeasonWinnersRunners UpSeason WinnersRunners Up
 1995/96Eastern GoldfieldsAlbany 2008/09            EsperanceUpper Great Southern
 1996/97PeelAlbany 2009/10Eastern GoldfieldsGeraldton
 1997/98PeelEastern Goldfields 2010/11Upper Great SouthernEastern Goldfields
 1998/99GeraldtonPeel 2011/12Eastern GoldfieldsBunbury
 1999/2000 PeelEastern Goldfields 2012/13Eastern GoldfieldsPeel
 2000/01BunburyAlbany 2013/14West PilbaraEastern Goldfields
 2001/02PeelBunbury 2014/15BunburyAlbany
 2002/03PeelEastern Goldfields 2015/16PeelUpper Great Southern
 2003/04GeraldtonUpper Great Southern 2016/17AlbanyBunbury
 2004/05BunburyGeraldton2017/18Not Played 
 2005/06Busselton-Margaret RiverGeraldton2018/19Not Played

 2006/07BunburyAlbany2019/20WA Invitational XIBunbury
 2007/08Upper Great SouthernAlbany2020/21Not Played - Covid 19