Toyota Australian Country Cricket Championships - Day 9 Results (FINAL MATCHES)
Date of Event : Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:21AM


Victoria played Queensland on the final day of play needing a win to not only win the One Day section but the overall championship as well. Victoria batted first setting a big total of 9/263 with Allen scoring a fantastic 86 while McCann and Williams chipped in with 54 and 52, Salerno was the best of the Queensland bowlers with 5/50 in an impressive display to cap off a great tournament for him. In reply, it was a batting masterclass by Queensland captain James Spargo who hit to all areas of the ground to make an unbeaten 134* and in doing so, take his team to victory with just 2 wickets down. This meant that Victoria would still be crowned One Day champions but narrowly missed out on the overall championship to New South Wales.


South Australia played New South Wales in a game that held significant importance with a win to New South Wales the key in securing the overall championships. South Australia batted first with McInerney making 36 however the South Australian’s couldn’t string some consistent performances together with the bat as New South Wales took over with Price getting 3/12, Burkinshaw 3/18 and Suidgeest 3/25 resulting in South Australia being all out for 95. In reply, New South Wales were searching for not only the win but the bonus points on offer and went out looking to score quickly, eventually chasing down the 95 runs in 20 overs to finish 4/96 with Moran scoring 45 and Golder bowling well for 2/33. The win for New South Wales bought double bonus points, drawing them level with Victoria and ultimately it was decided by net run-rate, with New South Wales crowned overall champions with the superior run rate.




South Australia broke the EAP strangle hold on the Women’s championship after posting a total too great for the Queenslander to chase down at Wonthella park in the Grand Final. Queensland won the toss and elected to bowl first to the informed opening pair of Brit Perry and Kelly Armstrong. South Australia openers shared an opening partnership of 40 before Leteysha Randall struck with two quick wickets to dismiss the pair. Strong fielding by Queensland through the innings keep South Australia to a respectable total with two run outs being the choice of dismissal before Lauren Shackleton collected 2 wickets of her own later in the piece to give them a chase of 108 for victory. Within the first 4 overs QLD were up against it with Tansell and Jameson knocking over 2 batters each to leaving Queensland 4/17. In the end the total was too great for the Queenslanders with South Australia’s bowling attack restricting Queensland to 7/94 and giving themselves their maiden Women’s Championship.
To view the highlights, visit

Last updated: Monday January 15, 2018 1:23PM
Author: Andrew Hayes